Firefly and PC GAMESS-related discussion club

Learn how to ask questions correctly

CASSCF/MCQDPT input files questions

Thomas
thomaspijper@hotmail.com

Dear fellow Firefly users,

I’m quite new to Firefly and am currently learning how to properly do CASSCF and MCQDPT calculations. I’ve studied a number of example input files in order to learn which keywords are important for these types of calculations, but this has raised a few questions which I, so far, have been unable to find an answer to. Specifically, I have a hard time understanding what some of the groups/keywords in the MCQDPT2/retinal benchmark are for. This is what the input file of this benchmark looks like.

$contrl icharg=1 scftyp=mcscf d5=.t. icut=10 inttyp=hondo mplevl=2
exetyp=timing $end
$system mwords=200 timlim=100000 mklnp=4 $end
$smp csmtx=.t. $end
$guess guess=moread norb=540 kdiag=0 $end
$trans dirtrf=.t. mptran=2 mode=112 $end                                      
$mcscf maxit=100 cistep=aldet $end
$drt group=c1 fors=.t. nmcc=88 ndoc=6 nval=6 $end
$det group=c1 ncore=88 nact=12 nels=12 nstate=3 wstate(1)=1,1 $end
$gugem pack2=1 $end
$gugdm2 wstate(1)=1.,1. $end
$gugdia nstate=2 $end
$mcqdpt nstate=2 edshft=0.02 irot=1 thrgen=1d-12 $end

My questions are the following:

1- What is the function of the $DRT group in the above input file? As far as I understand, the CISTEP=ALDET keyword should make the program use the Ames Lab determinant CI and read the settings in the $DET group. Doesn’t this make the $DRT group (as well as the associated $GUGEM, $GUGDM2, and $GUGDIA groups) nonfunctional?